Perfection: Lethbridge College Women’s Basketball


    Team caps undefeated season with national championship

    The Lethbridge College women’s basketball team capped one of the greatest athletic seasons in the college’s history by winning the CCAA national championship on Saturday night in Edmonton.

    The Kodiaks beat Toronto’s Dawson College Lady Blues 81-57 in the gold medal match, hosted by NAIT, to cap an undefeated ACAC and CCAA season. The Kodiaks went 21-0 in the regular season, followed by 3-0 tournaments in both the ACAC and CCAA championships to finish an incredible 27-0 on the season.

    “I told the girls, ‘once you win, it can’t be taken away from you,’” says Brad Karren, Kodiaks head coach. “They are national champions forever, and that is not an easy thing to do. But they have done it and I’m so proud of them.”

    In the championship game, the Kodiaks were led by tournament MVP Sunder West (third year – Raymond, Alta. – General Studies) who had 22 points, including four three-pointers. Amy Arbon (second year – Clearfield, Utah – General Studies) was named player of the game after scoring 13 points and shooting 67 per cent from the field. Logan Moncks (fourth year – Cardston, Alta. – Business Administration – Management) and Emma Lowry (fifth year – Lundbreck, Alta. – Massage Therapy) were both named to the tournament’s first all-star team.

    “This team has built a culture,” says Karren. “And that culture is that every player plays for the team and not for themselves. It is because of that attitude that we have been so successful.”

    The win is the fourth CCAA women’s basketball championship in program history after previous wins in 1989, 1990 and 2004.

    It is the second victory for head coach Brad Karren, who was named CCAA coach of the year. He also guided the club to the 2004 championship. In three seasons since returning to the Kodiaks, Karren is now 75-3 with two ACAC championships, a CCAA championship and a CCAA silver medal.

    It was a season filled with accolades for the Kodiaks, including:

    • Brad Karren – CCAA coach of the year and ACAC south division coach of the year

    • Sunder West – ACAC first team all-star; ACAC tournament MVP; CCAA tournament MVP

    • Logan Moncks – ACAC MVP and CCAA tournament first team all-star

    • Emma Lowry – ACAC first team all-star; ACAC tournament all-star; CCAA tournament first team all-star

    CCAA medals for the Lethbridge College women’s basketball team: 

    • 2017 – gold

    • 2015 – silver

    • 2009 – bronze

    • 2007 – bronze

    • 2004 – gold

    • 2003 – bronze

    • 1994 – bronze

    • 1993 – silver

    • 1991 – bronze

    • 1990 – gold

    • 1989 – gold

    • 1988 – silver


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here