University of Lethbridge seeking honorary degree nominations for 50th anniversary year


    University of Lethbridge

    The list of past honorees includes a who’s-who of astronauts, premiers, international entertainers, world renowned scientists, authors and more, and with the University of Lethbridge approaching its 50th anniversary, nominations are being sought for a particularly distinguished group to be recognized with honorary degrees in 2017.

    The call is out for nominations to be submitted to the U of L Senate by November 1, 2016 for the Spring 2017 and Fall 2017 honorees.

    If you know someone who has made an outstanding contribution to society at the local, provincial, national or international level, someone who has made a substantial difference in the lives of Albertans, then you know someone who merits consideration for a U of L honorary degree.

    Past recipients include luminaries such as authors Farley Mowat and Robertson Davies, astronauts Julie Payette and Marc Garneau, humanitarian Kim Phuc, former premiers Don Getty and Peter Lougheed, professor and lawyer Ovide Mercredi and actor Peter Ustinov.

    Honorary degree recipients come from all walks of life and so do the people who nominate them. Recipients are selected by the University Senate from nominees provided by members of the general public and the University community.

    More information and nomination forms can be found on the Senate website, or from the Senate Office (403-329-2482, [email protected]).

    The full list of U of L honorary degree recipients can be found here.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here